I miss K’s fluffy butt….

we’ve been dealing with rash stuff for a little while, first from detergent buildup caused by crunchy clean. After stripping 4 times, we finally solved that problem. Only to be introduced to a new one, the rash that comes from eating far too many slices of mandarin oranges. This one was fairly typical, and easily treated, even with the cloth diaper safe ointment by California Baby.

That is, it was easily treated, until the 3 day 101 degree fever. The combination of the fever and already present rash presented a perfect environment for a yeast rash. This is different than what most people think. K does not have a yeast infection. Just a yeast rash. We’ve been treating it with over the counter clotrimazole for a little over a week. We’ve also been using disposables, since the cloth diapers (as well as wet bags, wipes, covers and wool) need to be treated with grapefruit seed extract to rid them of yeast, and untreated cloth would just continually re-infect her. The last couple spots of this rash just won’t go away, so we had the pediatrician call in a prescription for nystatin, another antifungal ointment. I’m hoping this last pack of disposables we bought is enough. I’m ready for my little fluffy butt to come back.

I miss the cute diapers, I miss the wool, and most of all…I miss the fact that cloth diapers don’t STINK like disposables do. I swear  I check her bottom every 15 minutes, because I’m constantly thinking that I smell something…

Leave a Reply

