they say to never say never…

But there is one thing I can say never to as a parent with 100% certainty. I will NEVER, and I mean NEVER stand by and let my child treat people with hatred because of their race, ethnicity, social status, disability, sexual orientation or beliefs. NEVER. EVER.

I’ve been following the story of Constance McMillen since the news first broke, mostly via this facebook page. Constance is a lesbian, living in Mississippi. Her school cancelled her prom rather than let her attend in a tux with her girlfriend. The courts ordered that the school violated Constance’s first amendment rights, and ordered that she be allowed to attend. The school had acted as though they were accepting this defeat with at least a semblance of class and grace.

I was disgusted to learn yesterday, that Constance was lied to. She showed up at her prom on Friday night, with her date, to a crowd of 7 people. Yes, 7. Two of the other students were students with learning disabilities, and apparently unworthy of being in on the joke. Meanwhile, the rest of her class was at the real prom, thrown by their PARENTS. Yes, the “parents” of these children not only blatantly ignored a court order, they are setting the example for their children that it is OK to discriminate against people. According to this Advocate article, the ACLU is looking into this. The fake prom was also reported here.

As a human being, I am disgusted. And angry. As a parent, I am heartbroken. I can’t imagine the pain Constance and her family is feeling right now. I’m also disappointed. How much work is it going to take from parents like me for our children’s generation to overcome this hatred and fear? In a world that claims to have made so much progress from the civil rights movement, why are we still having to fight so hard for the rights of others?

As of right now, no major news network as even mentioned this. None. Of course, if you care about where the dicks of Jesse James or Tiger Woods have been lately, the news is your goldmine! But, for me, the real news lies in the stories like this.

I know they say to never say never…and I’ve learned that the hard way more than once. But in this instance, I can assuredly say, NEVER EVER.

edit to add: and now this blog offers up pictures of the real prom posted on facebook. 😦 So, so sad.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mamaphan said,

    What a great post.

    This is an absolutely disgusting situation. 😦

  2. 2

    Amy said,

    I could not agree with you more. It makes me sick to my stomach.

  3. 3

    kejia said,

    I learned of it today 4/6 on the Rachel Maddow blog
    http://maddowblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2010/04/06/4121707-mississippi-town-segregates-prom

    I imagine it will be on her program tonight.

  4. 4

    Jenny said,

    The progress is that you feel this way, I feel this way, and we are teaching our children the value of diversity. It can not go on forever, but slowly, it will be the minority and not the majority. My heart breaks for all who were “not good enough” to be told the truth.

  5. 5

    Sarah Ahiers said,

    i hadn’t even heard about this story! And in hindsight, i wish i hadn’t. Horrible and disgusting.
    People are so terrible to each other


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

